Showing posts with label Eva Longoria. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Eva Longoria. Show all posts

Monday, May 5, 2008

The MET's Costume Institute Gala!



The night I've been waiting for all year! I love this event and it always brings out the most exciting red carpet. This year was no exception, however, I was shocked at how little the super hero theme played into the dress choices. Christina Ricci DID take the theme to heart though and looked AMAZING and really was the best of the night.

How beautiful does she look?! This wonder woman-esque, Givenchy gown is not only beautiful but it's fun and goes along with the theme. This is what the event is all about!! Perfect choice.
More works of art! Anna Wintour, Eva Longoria and Diane Kruger all had beautiful dresses worthy of this event (would we have expected anything less from Anna). Well don't ladies! 
Eva Mendes, The Olsen Twins, and Giselle Bundchen all looked absolutely stunning! I was surprised by the tameness of the Olsens' choices but they did look great. I thought they would have been a little more theme oriented but still great choices.
More beautiful dresses! sigh! 
Well... I can't say I like any of these dresses but there is something to say about these daring ladies and their choices. While this is definitely not one of my favorite Rachel Bilson moments, her outfit definitely had a futuristic feel to it. 

Common ladies! You guys may look good but TALK ABOUT SAFE!! Sooo not worthy of those red stairs.
Victoria Beckham looked... bizarre. She should have definetly gone more theme, she could totally have pulled it off. No matter what beautiful designer dress Blake Lively gets a hold of, it always seems to wear her and not the other way around. I don't even want to start on Jennifer Lopez. Emmy Rossum looked boring as ever but can everyone take a moment and acknowledge the BEAUTIFUL dress behind her!! I was also beyond disappointed with Kate Bosworth's choice as she is one of my all time favorites. Sigh, at least Karl looks fabulous. Amanda Peet, ugh I hate her and I hate this outfit. Nuff said.
How did she get invited?! Sarah Silverman has no right to be on that carpet and neither did that hideous outfit. Ay Me. 



I'm really not sure how I feel about these two. Part of my loves Katie's look and another part hates it. The color is amazing, that I know, and very super hero-ish. The length though... maybe that's where it seems off? The cartoonish bob? The creepy husband? And then Michelle Trachtenberg... ugh, I absolutely HATE her, I've never liked her in anything and don't think they could have picked a worse person to play Georgina on Gossip Girl. As much as I love that show, my love decreased slightly when they casted her and I cringe every time she's on the screen (not just because of her evil character). Any way,despite that rant, I can't help but love her outfit. I just really really wish I didn't...

Any way, I think that about wraps it up for now! Two finals for me to finish and then SUMMER AND BACK HOME TO LOS ANGELES!! yes!

Thursday, April 10, 2008

Green with Envy

Celebrities, I'm not jealous of their fame or fortunes (although that does lead to my jealousy), I'm not jealous of the swarms of attention they demand or their guaranteed access to the hottest clubs (although I wouldn't mind this perk). It isn't even their seemingly endless amounts of fabulous clothes I envy the most. (although again, if you gave me all their clothes I wouldn't complain). No, what I envy most about celebrities is their closets in which they store their amazing clothes. There is something about the presentation, the space, and their ability to fill it that turns me green. 
Sigh to have such an amazing closet and the clothes to pack it. While Eva Longoria's closet is far neater (there are 50 pairs of jeans there!!) than Nicole Richie's, there is something about Nicole's messy, jam packed closet that I feel like I could spend hours in, always discovering something new. 
Moving on to Eva's shoe selection, she has 200 pairs impressively displayed behind her, while a more dramatic display (in someone's living room!) is shown below. On the right is stylist to the stars Rachel Zoe's closet, which again is a little out of control but full of literally everything you could ever want! Sigh!
So how do us mortals achieve closets like this? Well despite winning the lottery and moving into an accommodating home, there are a few key elements in creating a killer closet. One, matching hangers (even Nicole's mess has matching hangers). Nothing looks more luxurious than wood hangers, it just makes your clothes look and hang so much nicer, which is why stores do this. I also like stocking my shelves full of my favorite designers. Well...books about them. If the only way I'm going to have a Valentino dress in my closet is a book, then I'll display it proudly. There's also something so stylist-esque about a fashion library and inspiration right where you need it in the morning. Another way to glam up the wardrobe is a great lighting fixture (I found the one in the top right corner on target.com for 79.99) or fabulous decorations. I think decorating the inside of your closet is just as important as decorating your room. If your closet is organized in a coherent way (ie it doesn't have to be neat but you have to know where things are) with inspirational decorations, your daily style will reflect that. My final faux-envious-closet trick, designer boxes. Fashion houses put careful thought into everything they design, including the packaging. While I don't necessarily have the fabulous clothes that came inside these boxes (those are usually my mothers) I love to use them as storage for nic-nacs and things that have no other home. 

So until I'm rich and famous, I'll make due, but I'll still turn a bit green every time I get a peak into these great rooms (because let's face it, I could live comfortably in those closets).